Portlands Funny Girl

Thoughts from a Weird, Strange, Funny Girl

You May Say I’m a Dreamer

image

One of my greatest strengths is also one of my biggest weaknesses. (A great line to use for job interviews by the way… you’re welcome!) I happen to be someone who has not only a big imagination but someone with a lot of dreams and ideas. The flaw with this habit is I always rub into one of two problems. One, I bounce around from idea to idea, never fully committing to any one and thereby never finishing anything. (I blame my Sagittarius nature. ) Or two, I over load my plate so high with to do lists that I become overwhelmed, drop all the balls I’m juggling and still don’t accomplish a single one.

It’s a tough act. Mostly because I like to think of myself as a high functioning multi-tasker. I physically know that I am capable of doing any task I set my mind to so, I like to try to setup what feels like in my mind what feels like realistic goals. But by the end of a week, I always seem to find myself crashing and burning. My mind is in a constant battle between what goals I want to do and what I need to do so finding preference, becomes difficult. I want to satisfy my entire conscience so everything usually gets piled on the list.

But like one of my favourite Einstein quotes says “the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” And that’s how my life has been, technically I guess. So it’s time to shake things up and try something new… by only doing one thing a day.

Yup, that’s right. One thing a day. My mind seems to tell me that is nuts, that I will never accomplish anything that way. And how do I choose what’s to get done that day? That I can’t say. I won’t plan it. I will just decide what feels right, literally take it day by day and repeat it to myself all day until whatever my task is, is done. For instance, tonight my goal was to put away the laundry. I am usually a really big procrastinator about this but, it was my goal for today and I made it. And I have to say I feel really proud of myself. If anything else gets done on top of my goal, all the better but it won’t be the focus.

I have no idea if this method will work for me but when I gave up soda, it was just what I needed to break the habit. So here is to trying, and being successful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2015 by .
