Portlands Funny Girl

Thoughts from a Weird, Strange, Funny Girl

I Don’t Do Mornings

I don’t do mornings… at least not very well. And when I say mornings, I usually mean I do not like to wake up past nine (more like ten) o’ clock in the morning.

Now, for the most part I realize that doesn’t sound too bad, especially for someone who almost always works night. But the thing is, I am usually awake for an hour, sometimes two, before I actually do physically get out of bed and my number one motivation is… that’s right, you guessed it… food. I itemize everything that is in the fridge and cupboards and mull over in my mind if their is anything worth getting up for. Their usually is but even if their isn’t, I am still known to get up and stalk the kitchen anyway.

And therein lies the problem. Except for today for which my motivation to wake up was to actually write this article (and eat a piece of left over sandwich), I have no motivation at all! In fact even after I eat I have gone to lay back down in bed. Maybe not to eat but just to lay there, read, play on my phone, annoy my boyfriend who is still asleep until noon and just maybe, fall back asleep.

You can see the problem now right?

Because just think, right now of what you do every day. Think of your routine. Most of us complain that there aren’t enough hours in the day to accomplish much but if you think about it.., there really is. We are the whiners who just let time slip by. It’s just we have our routine and it’s hard to readjust them.

I truly believe that is the difference between us and successful people. I have a coworker for instance that I admire. From our conversations it always feels like she rarely let’s a moment of the day go to waste. She is always active and keeping herself busy. She works everyday on her craft, creating new pieces of art to sell. Its not necessarily hard work but she persists all the time in every aspect and is someone I can see in a few years time being very successful.

I like to imagine what my life would be like if I even applied half the effort she does to not only writing but in all aspects of my life. How many languages would I learn? How many places would I see? Would I know how to kyack, learn how to garden, be more environmental, learn more about history, photography, etc? Could I be an armature interior designer? Could I learn to eat healthier and look better? Could I climb a mountain? All these questions and a ton more haunt me if I only, Carpie Diem. What would our lives be like if we lived up to our potential?

The thing I always forget is, having a life like that is something you choose. It is a conscious decsion I need to make every day of my life.

It won’t be easy. If anything I expect it to be very very hard. After all, I am not a morning person. I always need to remind myself that the first month of giving up soda was the worst and all the ups and downs I psychology went through. Now I realize my cravings are mental but I need to look at my life the same way I cut my soda addiction, one day at a time. I need to look at my life more of what I need to do instead of what I want to do… which in this case is crawl back into bed and cuddle.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2015 by .
